top of page

Help & Support
Parents and Students

Globally recognised qualifications designed specifically for international students.


What is OxfordAQA?

OxfordAQA is a partnership between two giants of the education and assessment world:

  • AQA, by far the UK’s largest provider of GCSEs and A-levels.

This means OxfordAQA is built on unrivalled knowledge, experience and expertise in education and high-quality assessment. As a result, we offer high-quality British curriculum International GCSEs and A-levels to students around the world.

OxfordAQA qualifications are designed especially for international students, and are designed to equip them with the skills they need to succeed in the future, both at university and beyond. Browse our ever-growing list of top universities around the world that have confirmed that they value our qualifications.


Watch the video to find out more

Why is OxfordAQA different?

There are lots of reasons – but perhaps the most important is that OxfordAQA is unique because we test ONLY our students’ subject knowledge, not their English language skills.

We do this using our unique Fair Assessment methodology, which makes sure that all our qualifications give students the best chance to show what they can do.

Many international schools prefer OxfordAQA International GCSEs and A-levels because our exams tend to be timed more conveniently, and the content is specially designed to be better suited to students studying outside the UK. Quite simply, OxfordAQA International GCSEs and A-levels enable students to go further.

Learn more about how we put fairness first with our Parents’ Guide.

What is Fair Assessment?

Fair Assessment is made up of many elements. Every single one of these elements is crucial. One of the easiest to explain is our special vocabulary tool, the Oxford 3000.

The Oxford 3000 is a collection of the most important words in the English language. OxfordAQA exams use only Oxford 3000 words (and words in the subject specification) to ensure that the phrasing of our questions is as clear as possible for students for whom English is their second language.


By using the 9-1 GCSE grading system, you can be confident that OxfordAQA qualifications are recognised as being comparable to UK examinations.

Ofqual, the UK’s examinations regulator, has defined grades 7, 8, and 9 as the equivalent of A and A* in the old system. Grade 9 is awarded only to the strongest candidates, and helps to ensure that the very best students stand out from the crowd and receive the recognition that they deserve.

This helps universities to better identify the truly exceptional candidates.

Our assessments are closely aligned with the reformed GCSEs taken by students in England, and are always informed by the latest in assessment research. Download our factsheet about 9 to 1 grading here.


Developing the skills that matter

Our qualifications help students to develop important critical thinking skills, such as analysis and evaluation – essential for ensuring a smooth progression to undergraduate study.

OxfordAQA also offer innovative project-based learning qualifications, such as our International IPQ, which develop pupils’ independent learning skills and help them to stand out from the crowd when applying to top global universities.

bottom of page